Career advice and job search

Hello Everyone, I am a recent MSc Graduate of HR , who has been finding it very difficult getting an HR Role, each time I get feedback from interviewers it’s about my experience as I have only 3 years experience in HR abroad and I have been able to get a CIPD membership on an Associate level. I get feedbacks that my experience do not match with my qualifications and I need more experience. To help me transition into the HR sector here in the UK , I have taken up an Administrative Role within the NHS. I am happy to receive career advice on how best I can be successful in getting an HR Role

• Johanna

| 0 Posts

CIPD Staff

8 Apr, 2024 12:35

Hi Titilope thanks for your post and hopefully other Community members will be along soon to share their thoughts and advice. I'm pleased to hear you have secured a role within the NHS. If possible, when the time is right, do let your manager know that longer term you'd love to be able to incporporate some HR tasks into your role. Be on the lookout for any shadowing you can do with the HR team and anything where you can gain additional experience. You have the qualification and the experience abroad to back this up but as you say, employers are also looking for relevant UK experience. One thing you can do as a CIPD member to network and grow your knowledge is play an active part in your local CIPD branch. You could even take on a voluntary role there. It's a great opportunity to meet like-minded people and attend events aimed at people professionals etc. www.cipd.org/.../. There is some more info about transitioning into the people profession here: www.cipd.org/.../

• Keep up your CPD so that you could answer any question that an Advisor could
  • Hi Titilope,

Hang in there…. You’ve got the qualifications so now start networking either with your local CIPD or on LinkedIn… if the Administrator role with NHS is within the HR, that’s a good start… love and light!