I'm a good candidate for a HR apprenticeship?

Hi there

I would like your opinion regarding different routes into HR (specially into L&D)

I little bit about my background:

I’m from Spain, where I studied BS Human Resources. I worked in the field for 2 years always as a trainee or as an assistant. Mostly in admin and payroll but also in L&D.

I moved to the UK in 2013 where my English wasn’t good enough to be able to work in a HR position as we all know good communication skills are essential.

I decided to then go into teaching and I studied PGCE (Postgraduate certificate in education) in modern foreign languages. I’ve been working as a teacher the last 5 years and, even though I really like the job I’m ready for a new challenge.

My first thought was to enrol into a CIPD course and after that apply for jobs but after researching a lot it seems like this is not a good idea as I read some comments from people saying they found it difficult to complete some assignments as they weren’t working in an organization and also they are struggling to find a job without experience.

In that way, I think doing an apprenticeship could work better for me as I will obtain experience at the same time I’m studying towards my CIPD. I will also obtain a small salary (I can’t afford having an unpaid break in order to prepare for my CIPD)

Maybe I could gain a similar experience if I start applying for admin roles and working my way up but I think it will take more years.

Am I crazy for considering an apprenticeship taking into account I already have a BS HR and a PGCE? Do you think companies will be happy to have me as an apprentice or do they prefer an 18 year old? (I’m 32)

I would appreciate any thoughts/ recommendations.

Thank you!

• Sara welcome to the communities