Route into HR

Hello All,

I am presently completing my level 5 in HR. I plan and will be finished at latest in December 2020 however I am hopeful to be completed before then.

My background is as a duty manager, line manager, senior manager and business owner in sports, retail and food service industries which had given me 20 years experience as a manager with 9 years of it in a larger retailer where as a line manager and senior manager I had a lot of exposure to dealing with people management and HR within my roles such as recruitment and selection, performance management, people management, disclipnary and investigations etc which I am seeing especially now with completion of this course.

My question is how do I translate this into jobs I can apply for once the course is completed.

For example I have a lot of business experience so would I be considered for a HR business partner role? 

Thanks for your help in advance.

I am from Edinburgh and would be looking to commence a full or part time role in HR on completion of the course and I am flexible to what level I start.

Bryan

• Business Partner may be overly enthusiastic at this stage. Even established HR Managers struggle sometimes to break into the role.

The level 5 will underpin some of the theory behind the practice so you’ve made a good start. In terms of roles, I can’t comment - it all depends on how you market yourself I guess. There’s nothing wrong with HR Advisor type roles to start. What a HR Advisor will do will vary from org to org. Sometimes you’ll get lucky and really get involved in all aspects of HR and even gain knowledge about strategy etc.
  • Also depends on what sort of salary you are after. Again, for a HR Advisor it will vary depending on org size, sector, structure of HR function. Most tend to be between £25-£32k. But there are places that offer more.
  • In reply to Amo: