Civil Service Fast Stream

Hello everybody,

I am new to the CIPD community and would just like to introduce myself. My name is Jamie. I currently work in the Civil Service and am on the Civil Service Fast Stream. This is a graduate programme which allows somebody to reach the upper echelons of management at a quicker rate. I chose the HR fast stream as I enjoy helping others and competed the CIPD level 3 as part of my resettlement package when I left the Army. So far I have only been in my first placement for a few weeks, but I am being kept very busy in a brand new team that looks after the HR needs of all of the Senior Civil Servants in my department. During this programme I will also be completing the CIPD level 7 qualification, and so will be able to apply for a senior management role in HR within the Civil Service in 3 years.

So, if anyone has any questions about the Civil Service Fast Stream or the CIPD level 7 (after I begin), then I will be happy to answer them.

Thanks

Jamie

• Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

19 Sep, 2017 16:40

Welcome, Jamie... and thanks for that offer of sharing your civil service fast track experience.

Tagging Robey.

• In reply to Steve Bridger:

It's been ten years, now, Steve. I think my credibility as the forum's unofficial ex-military spokesperson is getting a bit rusty.

However, welcome to Jamie. I hope you find the transition to civvie street an easy and comfortable experience - it sounds like all is going smoothly for you so far.
  • Hi Jamie,

Only yesterday found the Fast Stream, potentially looking into it for 12 months time, would be good to hear your experiences, pro's, con's etc.

Exploring my options after a selection board asked me "why, with your experience in developing people, are you not looking at becoming a Training officer?"

Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

Ross
  • In reply to Ross:

Hi Ross,