Experience or knowledge?

Hi

I have just completed my CIPD level 5 qualification and have level 3 under my belt. I have 3 years experience in HR but I am struggling to find a role. My current role is HR team coordinator, but it has fallen to a more PA role with little HR taking place. 

I have applied for many different types of role, assistant, officer, adviser, trainee adviser and unfortunately I am getting no where. Unsuccessful application forms come back with not enough experience. Interviews I have had, I always receive positive feedback, I give good example, always answer the question but never quite get the grade to be offered the job.

Is it the same old catch 22? I need experience but I need someone to give me the chance to get it. I want to put what I have learnt into practice and have much more of a challenging role. I will be doing CIPD level 7 in September and want to be doing something much more fulfilling by then.

What else can I do? What am I missing? Would I better off going back to administrator level?

Thank you

Ruth

• Hi Ruth,

I'm with you on this, but from the opposite side. I have the experience but not the bit of paper showing 'knowledge'.

There are times when I feel that HR is a club to which I'm never going to be invited. I have many years experience running HR in small companies, the sort of company where titles are immaterial but being able to do almost any job is essential. This has given me an enviable 'cross-curricular' knowledge of all areas of business and how they interrelate, invaluable in HR.

I left to become a teacher, which I did for some years. I now want to get back into HR but am having absolutely no joy at all - because I don't have the bit of paper. I do, however, have years of experience, a BA(Hons) in ICT, qualified teacher status, and an MBA, but these are apparently not good enough for even the most basic role.