Part Time HR Work - Interview Questions - Possible grounds for direct/indirect discrimination

Dear All,

I have a genuine query regarding what questions agencies and recruiters may lawfully ask during interviews for part-time positions.  In the same way as recruiters and hiring managers are not lawfully allowed to verbally enquire about an applicant's age, marital status, religion, sexual orientation, etc. (although they may get around that by requiring candidates to complete diversity forms, as a condition of submission of an application for employment)  I have come across a number of recruiters enquiring why am I looking for part-time work?  Once I explain that I am currently studying a PhD in Organisational Psychology, I am usually met by disenchantment and it may be possible that I get discriminated against.  All very frustrating!

It is hard enough to find part-time roles as an external candidate in the realm of HR, but then to be met with a disenchanted voice/face and potentially be discriminated against because you are studying for a PhD...seems (to me) rather unfair.

Whilst I fully appreciate that recruiters/employers may be concerned that once I finish my PhD I may/may not seek to move, however my hope is that I could stay on.  This is a work environment, after all, where for 2 years so-called 'permanent' employees have no employment protection rights and their employment can lawfully be terminated suddenly.  I am really not sure if anybody else experienced this.  I have heard from some of my MSc students that their employers are not exactly happy with them studying part-time even though their degrees are related to what they are doing during their day-time job(s). In fact, some students have opted not to disclose the fact that they are studying part-time for this specific reason.