Moving from third sector to private sector

Hi there,

I have been working in HR for 22 months in various entry level roles, i.e HR Coordinator, HR Administrator, Recruitment Officer within the third and public sector.

Recently, I have nursed the ambition to make the move from my current sector into the private sector. Job advert after job advert, talking to one recruitment agent after the other,  I must say it has not been easy and I have not been successful in that quest, unfortunately. The requirements are pretty much strict which makes me feel a bit disheartened to pursue it. 

I would be grateful for any tips or advice can anyone who has found themselves in a similar situation give to me in order to help me make the move to practice HR in the private sector.

And also how different is NFP or Public sector HR practice from Private sector?

Afua

• Hi Afua

I started out in the private sector and transitioned into the third sector. I have to say it is much easier doing it that way around and I can see why. Even the more philanthropic private sector organisations tend to characterise the third sector as being bureaucratic and process-driven while seeing themselves as agile and fast-moving. You will need to convince them that you can adapt to what they perceive as their leaner, meaner culture.