Navigating career levels

Hello all,

I was wondering if someone could help me figure out where I am in the HR career hierarchy.

I'm an HR Officer in a multi-site organisation with c.370 employees and have been in this Company for around four years but have no previous HR experience. As the only full-time HR person and deputy to the part-time Senior HR Officer, I am often leading projects, advising managers and execs, supervising the two more junior members of the team and engaging in generalist and administrative HR duties. Because I was essentially thrown into the deep end I decided to undertake my CIPD7 qualification and am halfway through my modules. 

I have been told by various people that for HR Advisor positions I am overqualified, and by others that I am underqualified (even though the listed duties appear the same). 

While the easy option would then be to say I should add 'Senior' to my title, I'd like to advance to another Company one day and I think understanding how my role relates to the HR career ladder is important to developing my understanding of what is expected of me.

Where would you place me?  

• HR Officer, what is putting people off isn't your job title, it is more likely that you are doing a Level 7 qualification which is putting prospective employers off. Why didn't you do Level 5?
  • In reply to Paul:

Hmm maybe. I did a university degree which covered the majority of topics in level 5 and my position requires working with the directors quite a bit so I was advised that a level 7 would be more suitable by the course provider and my manager at the time. I don't doubt that I made the right choice though as there are so many fresh graduates in the course.