Struggling to return to HR

Hi Everyone,

I'm really struggling along with many of you to return to HR.

I worked in the industry from 2007 - 2011 and then from 2013 -2014 and no matter how hard I try, I get the same responses' that 'they are worried I may struggle with the transition back in to HR' or 'I don't have enough experience' or they want someone with 'recent HR experience'.

I'm passionate about HR and would love to return but to be honest, I feel no one is willing to give me the chance, I have even applied for positions where you don't need HR experience as full training will be given but still hearing nothing back. 

I know HR is forever changing so I always keep up to date with this. I genuinely believe there are only so many knock backs a person can take!

Any advice is really appreciated.

Patricia 

• Hi Patricia,
    I had a similar experience, I worked in HR from 1993 to 2012 and took a career break to raise my daughter for 4 years. I returned to work last year in an admin role but quickly realised I wanted to return to HR. Like you my responses to HR Advisor roles were 'no recent experience' or HR Admin roles 'you wont stay!'. Eventually I started 'temping' in HR admin roles on a one week rolling contract (covering LTS) which was not ideal but it started to build the 'recent experience'. Then I secure a permanent HR Admin role. Shortly after joining, the HR Manager resigned and I was asked if would like the opportunity to become an HR Advisor again with the support and guidance from the board. Clearly I jumped at the chance and this is where I am today.
    There are still some gaps in my knowledge and times when I feel a little out of my depth but I have this wonderful community to lean on and a very supportive CEO.
    I do hope you find a suitable role soon Patricia, it will happen for you!