I've just gained my very first HR Advisor role! Any advice?

Hi all,

As the title suggests, today I was very, very happy to acquire my first HR Advisory role after a number of years of trying to progress! 

I'll be working in a team that solely deals with sickness advisory support/case work. I should also state that I've never worked within this organisation before so I'm sure that I'll be able to get some tips and tricks internally when I start in a few weeks time.

However, before that I wanted to try and get some feedback about how you all coped with your step up to the Advisory level?
Was there anything that you wish you'd known then that you do now?
Do you have any tips that you think could make the transitional process easier for me or potholes that I should look to avoid?

Your advice doesn't have to directly related to sickness management, I'm sure that I can make any advice you give, relating to case work/advisor work, applicable to my new role.

P.s. But please don't give me all your horror stories all at once! ;)

• Congratulations. Great news. Hope it really works for you.

My only real advice is to listen. Really listen. Often managers will tell you far more about what the real problem is rather than the often surface issues.

Good luck.
  • In reply to Keith:

Thank you for your kind words.

So by that I presume you mean that said managers may initially start discussing a particular issue, but in fact it relates to a far larger problem which they might only allude to?

P.s. If I've not understood I scouts promise to listen more intently to your reply ;)

• In reply to James Webber:

Yes totally !
  • Congratulations!

I would add that they need to know you are really there to help them
    Your focus should be enabling good ideas not policing other plans (unless you have to!)

Good luck
  • In reply to Peter Stanway:

Thanks for the reply and congratulations Peter.