OK - is OD more than the sum of its parts?

Hello there

I have a query about moving in to the field of OD. I have nearly 20 years experience of working across a range of projects, programmes and all manner of assignments although most of my role was communications focussed (working at a senior level in internal communications). I have designed and delivered workshops, conferences, coaching, action learning, learning and development programmes, leadership development, diversity talent programmes etc ....but this has all rather peculiarly been in partnership with HR rather than inside of it. i.e. I was viewed as the very 'keen' and 'able' comms partner or similar! 

My most recent in-house role was consulting and gaining buy-in for a suite of policies which effectively bridged the gap between IT and HR and even covered topics such as information management and cybersecurity. I struggle to find any part of OD that I have not worked on or contributed to over the years, and five years ago gained an MSc in Occupational Psychology. I now teach this part time at MSc level too. 

I'd dearly love to consolodate these skills  and experience with a role in OD. But due to never really sitting inside 'pure' HR and therefore never really gone after CIPD chartership (I've 'reported to' HR Directors and Partners with respect to project outcomes and workstreams but never as a direct report) should I still apply for roles? 

I'm 'qualifed' academically to the hilt but I feel recruiters put you in a box. its' a catch 22 in that I can't pursue gaining my CIPD chartership until I have a role to start building that portfolio story, and I was told flatly by CIPD helpline some years ago that I can only charter if I report into a Head of HR. 

thoughts? 

• Hi Christine

I think the "information" you were given by the CIPD helpline was utter poppycock. I am surprised you haven't had a response from someone within the CIPD on that point. Is there anyone out there?