Career Change Help

Hi Everyone, 

Hopefully someone can help. 

Im looking into a career change from distribution sector into L&D. I have worked in this area for the last 4 years as I just happened to fall into the job. I have a Bachelors degree in Arachaeology so I do have some experience in group training and project management. However I'm just not sure how to get into this area. 

Is this something I would need to retrain in? Would I need a qualification before I would even be considered for a position. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

• Hi Megan, I apologise in advance if this seems patronising, it is not my intention in the slightest.

I think, like a number of questions like this it helps to put yourself into the shoes of someone recruiting for the level of role you are looking for. Recruitment is, for the most part, an exercise in minimising risk - you cannot know how someone will perform in the role you have, so you put a lot of process into trying to find out. One of the key indicators whether someone can do the role is, patently, if they have done a similar role before. That's why functional experience and demonstrated capability feature heavily in most organisations recruitment strategy. Its a sad fact of life for those looking to change direction - at least on a level basis - that most roles of this type will attract a number of applications from people with demonstrated competence in the role, and that the likelihood therefore is that anyone who hasn't is unlikely to be sifted in.

Therefore, anything you can do to try and convince a potential employer that you are competent now will increase your chances, but its fair to say that it will likely move from no chance to a slim chance. Even qualifications, whilst a help only demonstrate part of what many employers will look for - many will value functional experience much more heavily.