When will CIPD stop wishing me a Happy Christmas and start wishing me Happy Holidays?

I have been a member of CIPD for over 20 years and every year the organization sends me an email to wish me a Merry Christmas.  For the past 5 years, I have sent a message directly to CIPD to ask that this message be changed to a more inclusive holiday greeting.  Clearly, this wish is not respected.

As an HR professional, I encourage employers to practice inclusive work practices.  Wishing people a Happy Holidays is inclusive as is Seasons Greetings.  Not all employees celebrate Christmas and I'm sure that this applies to CIPD members too.

I do not take offence each time someone wishes me a Merry Christmas as I appreciate that this is a message of goodwill.  However, this does apply to a professional body such as CIPD.  I see little value in writing about the value of inclusivity if you are not willing to practice this yourself.

Wishing all members of CIPD a peaceful and happy holiday season.

• Must say I 100% disagree with your post. Christmas is a season widely celebrated by many not for its Christian roots but as a wide ranging family based time . It is part of the cultural heritage of the UK and long may it continue.

I am happy we haven’t gone down the American tradition of Happy Holidays. ( and isn’t holidays derived from holy days anyway so surely that might offend some?). We can be inclusive and open without being entirely homogeneous. Indeed part of recognising diversity is accepting that people have different backgrounds and different journeys to where we are. And for many/ most in the UK  that included Christmas with its trees , tinsel and Father Christmas. 

• two thoughts:

The time off is because it is Christmas whether we believe in it or not.

Holiday as a word is derived from holy days which you may or may not observe, so might still be offensive to some (including those who cannot have time off at this time of the year).
  • In reply to Keith: