When will CIPD stop wishing me a Happy Christmas and start wishing me Happy Holidays?

I have been a member of CIPD for over 20 years and every year the organization sends me an email to wish me a Merry Christmas.  For the past 5 years, I have sent a message directly to CIPD to ask that this message be changed to a more inclusive holiday greeting.  Clearly, this wish is not respected.

As an HR professional, I encourage employers to practice inclusive work practices.  Wishing people a Happy Holidays is inclusive as is Seasons Greetings.  Not all employees celebrate Christmas and I'm sure that this applies to CIPD members too.

I do not take offence each time someone wishes me a Merry Christmas as I appreciate that this is a message of goodwill.  However, this does apply to a professional body such as CIPD.  I see little value in writing about the value of inclusivity if you are not willing to practice this yourself.

Wishing all members of CIPD a peaceful and happy holiday season.

• In reply to Johanna:

Hi Johanna,

Thanks so much for your message.

I haven't lived in UK for many year. Where we live, it is commonplace for large organizations to send messages wishing people Season's Greetings or Happy Holidays. Therefore I was surprised when the email from the CIPD membership, once again, wished me Happy Christmas.

My family and I have learned a lot from these responses, (particularly the power of responding in CAPs, bold and underlined). We've discussed whether people do need embrace and reflect the culture of the country where they live, and what this means from a practical stance, particularly if you are not Christian.

We don't celebrate Christmas but appreciate that most people do. My daughter has left early for school today as she has a breakfast with Santa, and when we go for our walk on Christmas morning, we will be wished, and will wish, people a Happy Christmas.