Company car excess

I've been driving a company car for over 3 years and recently had an accident (first one) that was my fault. I have since been informed by the company that I need to pay the £500 excess out of my own pocket.

At no point was I made aware of such an excess, indeed the first I saw of the policy was when the fleet manager sent this to me. If I had been aware of the excess I would have been able to take out an excess insurance policy.

Can the company force me to pay this by deducting the money from salary? Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks Mat

• This is a deduction from salary and is only permitted if you have agreed to it or its a contractual term. So the key will be if you agreed to it in the paperwork of getting your car, your contract etc. Even then it can be challenged

Its not a policy I agree with and I think its better dealt with by training or the disciplinary policy.
  • Hi Mat and welcome to the forums.
    Good practice would call for en employer to advise staff of their responsibilities/liabilities at the time they take possession of a company car. Most companies provide a booklet explaining the rules and ask staff to sign acceptance of them.
    Unless you hve signed a document authorising it, your company cannot make a deduction from salary for the excess - that would be an unlawful deduction from salary - however in absolute terms they could potentially pursue you in the the civil courts for the damage for which they hold you responsible..
    In my experience, it is not uncommon for companies to expect staff to pay the excess in the event of a claim, although practices vary.
    Pragmatically, you have been involved in an accident with a piece of company property in your possession, and unless there is a clear "no-fault" situation it would not unreasonable for the company to expect you to contribute to some of the costs incurred.