Occupational health outside the normal travelling distance

Hi all Yes I'm a newbie so Hello everyone!

So to kick off I have a slight problem that I hope someone can help me out with.

I have an employee who has an alergy to Latex who recently had to be administered with their own epipen and was taken to hospital as a precaution but was ok They came back to work quickly  ( they had one day off). However they came back to work and had another reaction (there was a rubber ball of all things in a staff room which they reacted to). They had another 3 days off which I thought was fair enough,my Line manager doesn't agree and wants me to send them to Occupational Health. This is all very well but our OH is in a different county some 80 miles away and I know this will be a struggle for the employee.

This has never happened before and the employee in question has a very good record with very few sick days in the past,for their part the employee hasn't refused to go the the OH but has so far refused to travel the 160 odd mile round trip (which I understand ) but my line manager is insistant.

As a compromise I'm thinking about an over the phone consult as many Doctors surgeries do nowadays but I have a feeling that my line manager maybe difficult about it.

Do you think my idea is plausible?

• Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

18 Oct, 2018 16:43

Welcome to the Community, Tony... and I'm 'bumping' your thread is your post got 'stuck' in the moderation queue in error.
  • Hi Tony,

Welcome! I cannot see anything wrong with a telephone call between OH and your employee unless OH need to see the workplace - in which case they would need to come to you. I've arranged calls between OH and employees previously and this has worked just as well as face to face depending on the situation.