What CIPD level should I study?

Hi There,

I graduated from university with an undergraduate degree in BA Hons Tourism Management. I am currently working as a sales manager at a hotel but I have always wanted to persue a careee in Human Resources. I have some experience in Human Resources from my present job. My plan is to get work part time in HR and to study alongside. From my education and work experience, what level should I study at to gain a CIPD qualification and is it best to go to university to study?

Thank you for your time!  

• Hi Yasmin,

I decided to do the level 3 first as I didn't feel ready for the level 5 and I had only been working in HR for one year so didn't feel I had experience on my side either. Looking back now I am glad I started with the 3 as I feel I would have struggled starting with the level 5 as it is quite in depth.

I have now completed my 5 and looking to start the 7, however everyone is different and if you have the time to put into the studying every week I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to start at level 5. I completed both qualifications part time at a college with a university centre.

Good luck :-)
  • Academically you could probably pass a L5 or L7.

But you have no real foundation in HRM so ideally would start at L3 to get the basics sorted.
  • Hi Yasmin,

At the end of the day it depends on what level of experience you currently have. If it's just OK'ing your team's holidays then I'd go for the level 3 as you - being honest - have very little HR knowledge. If you're dealing with grievances, performance reviews, payroll, etc, then you have a fair knowledge of the day-to-days needs so given your current academic achievements I'd suggest level 5.