Using capability procedures to justify dismissal.

Hi,

First time I've used this so please forgive if I'm in the wrong place.

I have been working in a school for 7 years, in the past year I have been the HLTA and I have never received any complaints about my work.

In September our school was taken over by an academy and all temporary contracts were terminated.

In February, I had my appraisal and I was deemed inadequate. As such I was placed on a six week training programme that met the HLTA standards. I asked my head 4 times to offer examples of where my short-fallings were, so I could improve. I was told only to look at the standards, no actual work or evidence was produced. I have spoken all the teaching staff and no one has spoken badly of my teaching.

I undertook the six week training, visiting other schools, speaking to staff from other schools about marking and assessing work, they indicated that my work is good. No other HLTA I met planned lessons except phonics lessons.

For week six, I had to plan and deliver a lesson to a class of year 2’s. Before I went for feedback, I realised that there were a couple of areas I had missed, which the head agreed. I was told that the lesson failed to extend learning and as such was insufficient.

The next day I had to take in evidence of planned work, recording of evidence and marking. On the following Monday I was told it was insufficient and I was now being placed in capability proceedings which would start with a meeting the following week. I asked the head if she could give me her opinion or examples on the work and marking I had submitted, she just said no!