Bachelors in HR Management or a CIPD Level 5?

Hi CIPD Community, 

I am a little flustered as to what I should do with myself right now. I have over 3 years of recruitment experience (most recently on a contract which has been terminated due to company funds). I really enjoy my career working in recruitment but have more so, enjoyed working within HR and wanting to learn more about the industry and get my foot in.

I have really struggled finding a new role due to this pandemic (and I am sure many people have) but over the last few years, I have been thinking about going back into education to gain a Bachelors degree in Human Resource Management. I have spoken with a member from CIPD and they said I can start at Level 5 which will be more cost-effective compared to a Bachelors' and I will gain the learning experience as well as the qualification needed to into HR. Once completed, he said I would be able to apply for HR Manager or Advisor roles.

However, I have also seen Universities offering Bachelors degree which are accredited by CIPD i.e. University of Leeds, Aston University and University of Greenwich. I have spoken to the Lecturers and they mentioned that once I graduate, I will automatically become an Associate member and can add Assoc. CIPD to my name - how much of this is true? 

I am mostly worried that if I did study 4 years at University to gain a Bachelors in Human Resource Management - would I also need take on a CIPD course in future? 

Also, I have noticed some Universities that offer Human Resource Management courses are not accredited by CIPD but are "approved" by them. What does this mean? And would I need to go to a University that's accredited by CIPD in order for me to work in this role after completion of my studies?

• Hello again Vivian

The CIPD main site invites people to call to talk through qualification options with an advisor: +44 (0)20 8612 6208