Changing from recruitment to HR

Hi all,

I am looking for some help and have been advised this forum would be really useful for myself.

I have been working within recruitment for just over 4 years now but I am looking to step away from the agency world and start a career within HR.
I have spoken to several CIPD providers however I am receiving mixed messages, I am looking to start my course in the new year self-funding the whole thing. Many companies have recommended me starting at Level 5 due to me having 2 years experience within uni and being exposed to basic HR duties while working in recruitment but then others are advising to start at level 3.

What would be your personal opinion? If I can save myself some money and start at level 5 that would be great but if it is not going to benefit the knowledge I gain in the long run I do not want to rush the process.
Any help would be massively appreciated!

All the best
Kim

• Hi Kim and welcome. I know someone who is in a very similar situation and they have opted to go for level 5. (which I am also studying) I get the impression that they have a lot more to learn and a little more work to put in, compared to myself, who has 3 years experience in HR and I've completed level 3. it may be worth researching the modules for each level and assessing your own academic ability. as either may suit your current experience. I hope that helps. Gemma
  • Hi Kim,

I thought I'd share my experience because I also started a career in agency recruitment and then eventually found my way into HR. Be prepared it may not be as simple as just doing your Level 3 or 5 and then falling into a HR job. I had to do some side/backwards steps in terms of job title/job description/salary/authority but nevertheless it was worth it.