Working in the UK having your experience in another EU country

Hi everyone!

I wanted to share my experience since I moved to the UK (a year ago)

I was working as an HR Manager in Spain and prior to that, I worked as an HR Advisor and as an HR Coordinator and Assistant. In total, I have 5 years of experience in the field. I have been struggling to find a job in HR in the UK. Either I'm too prepared for the role or I don't have experience in a UK office (these are the feedbacks I always get).

Because the situation was really frustrating, I decided to start the CIPD Level 7 Certificate in HRM.

To be honest with all of you, I'm feeling a little bit concern about my career, because I've been out of the HR world for almost a year. I completely understand that is a new country-new playground reality, but, how come is this hard to even find a job in an entry-level position as a European?

Is this usual? I would really appreciate some advice.  

Many thanks!

• Hi Ana

I have no experience of trying to get a role in a new country, but, as you'll see from many of the posts on this site, getting any role in HR in the UK proves very difficult for a lot of people. It seems there are a lot of people wanting to work in our field, and not as many roles as perhaps there used to be.

This doesn't mean you should give up but you may have to be even more patient - with your skills and background, I would imagine that you will be the ideal candidate for quite a few organisations - you may just need to be even more creative in finding them. If you have a search on some of the other posts on this topic, you will find a lot of ideas on places to look. It may be that you need to look at temporary or fixed term contracts to start with, which can provide good experience, or even lead to something longer term.

I know this may not be much help, but at least wanted to let you know that it's not a problem that only you are experiencing!

Kind regards

Louise