Transition from project management to HR

Hi everyone!

I am glad I joined this group and hopefully I will get some insights into HR field.

I am thinking to change career path to HR, so Iplanning to start CIPD Diploma Level 5.

I have teaching and linguistic background. I did the MSc in Translation Technology which gave me the opportunity to work as a PM in Localisation. I found it very stressful. Needless to say that working overtime was the the norm. It seems that Localisation companies are all more or less the same, so I decided that HR or L&D is a field that I would be interested to explore.  I have also 2 years of administration experience.

Do you think that CIPD will help me find my first HR job?Or shouldn't invest time and effort on this?

It seems that a lot of skills required in HR, are similar to PM like prioritisation, ability to work in a fast paced environment, multitasking etc. Would my PM experience be taken into accpunt?

I feel that it is impossible to get an entry level HR job in Dublin. 

Any feedback or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Welcome to the forums. If you use the search facilities you will find lots of helpful advise on people trying to get into HR from a variety of fields. Its tough, often takes longer than they expect and quite frustrating. HR is a career with far more people wanting to do it than roles available so be prepared to stick at it.

I also think it would be wise for you to really think if a HR career is for you. I understand that your role in Localisation isn't meeting your needs but you need some pretty strong motivation to get into HR so think through why?

Your PM skills may be useful in some HR jobs but not so many entry level ones.