Dog bite in the workplace

Hi everyone,

This is a strange one, possibly a first!?

I am a HR manager for a small domiciliary care company. I am currently in week 19 of my 26 week probationary period.

I have not had any reviews with my line manager, the Business Development Director (BDD) or the registered manager/owner. I have asked for an informal review around week 12 but was told 'it is too busy'. It is worth noting that the registered manager is the mother of the BDD.

Occasionally, staff have been allowed to bring their dogs into work, which I generally don't have a problem with. This can be up to 1 week at a time depending on individuals. Last week, the BDD dropped his 3 dogs off at the office before going on annual leave. The registered manager was looking after them. One of the dogs, a small terrier type, is the typical small barking/snappy dog that you sometimes come across. On previous occasions, this dog has barked at me, suggesting that it doesn't like me, Indeed, the registered manager has told me that 'he dislikes men'.

On Tuesday, around 9am, I needed to speak with the registered manager in her upstairs office. As I was talking, the small dog was around my ankles barking. When finished, I turned to leave the office and the dog leapt at my leg and bit it, drawing a little blood. I shouted out with the pain and swore several times. The registered manager picked the dog up and I left the office. The whole situation was witnessed by one of the care managers.

I was in shock for a while and a bit shaky, but other than that I was ok. I'm not claiming that I'm now terrified of dogs or anything, in fact, I'm fine with them so no lasting effects other than a sore, cut leg and bruising. I stayed downstairs for the rest of the week, communicating by email or telephone when necessary.