Christmas Bonus Calculation

Hi, 
I am currently studying my Level 5 in HR and have been allocated HR responsibilities alongside my current job role however I am still very new to the industry.  

One of this issues brought to my attention is the companies new Christmas bonus scheme. 

They are proposing that for every three hours of over time worked, the employee gains an hour back in lieu. However, they are trying to implement a rule that our part time members of staff (contracted to 16 hours) must work over 37 hours before they start to qualify for this bonus scheme. 

I can't help but feel this is discriminatory toward part time workers and is an unfair proposal. 

If anyone has any advice on the matter that would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, 

Emily 

• Hi Emily and welcome to the forums.

You may want to ask yourself the reverse question... If  full time people need to work 40 hours every week before receiving any benefit, they will legitimately  compare themselves to  a person contracted to work 4 hours a week who only needs to work 7 hours a week to qualify for the same benefit. From their point of view this will not be fair either.

Pushing the logic to it's extreme, a part-timer with 5 distinct PT contracts of 4 hours/day could clock up 15 hours of qualifying time by working 7 hours every day in the same week (ie 5x3 qualifying hours). That too would not be fair.

IMHO if comparable proportional treatment is to be achieved (in the same way as holiday entitlements for part timers) it could be along the lines of :

1. Normal working hours are 37 hours/week, and for every hour worked in excess of 40hours, an hour of time off will be awarded
    2. Your working hours need to go beyond 40/37 of contracted hours to qualify for 1/37 of contracted hours in time off
    3. If someone has 10 contracted hours per week, they will need to work 40/37x10 hours=10,81 hours to start acquiring time off