women in tech

Hi all, I work in the tech industry which is male dominated. As a business we would like to encourage more women to get into this line of work, which we are currently acting upon. In conjunction we would like to launch a recruitment campaign targeting women, is this allowed? Would we be in breach of discrimination? I have seen some big companies advertising for women to join their company, so I assume it can be done. But would like to know if there are certain caveats or anything to be aware of. I am not sure this is the best category, so if I need to move this thread, please let me know. thank you :)
  • It depends what you mean by targetting.
    you can choose your media and use pictures of women and no doubt other things as well as long as you are not discriminating against men. There must be people out there with a track record of encouragement and success.
  • Hi Gemma,

There are plenty of women in tech specific job boards that you could advertise your roles on. It'd also be worth ensuring that you're creating and promoting a culture where women feel they fit - getting the applicants is only the first bit of the process! If you're serious about improving diversity and perhaps having balanced shortlists for example, this will inevitably make the recruitment process longer and you might miss out on other candidates who can't wait: not necessarily a problem, but something for hiring managers to be very honest with themselves about in terms of whether it's an option.
  • Might also be worth exploring “returners” options to get women back into tech