CIPD Level 3 or 5

Hi guys,

Apologies if this isn't posted in the right section first time on here would like some guidance/opinions on a few things.

I'm coming from a retail background where I progressed from a sales assistant to store manager in 6 years. I held the position of store manager for 2 years and moved into doing telesales which I'm now doing and have been doing for the past few two months. I'm 24 years old if that matters.

I would like to begin a career within HR but finding it hard to get into it. I'm going to be starting a CIPD course to help me secure my first job within HR but not sure if I should start at level 3 or 5? I have no previous HR experience, I was required at my old job to do the occasional discplinary, counselling etc payroll every week but that's the extent really. Furthest I went with education was A-levels no uni, would I struggle doing a level 5?

And my last question is would it be better to look for an administration role whilst doing my CIPD then going into HR or will it be same sort of thing if I were to stay doing telesales and then going straight into HR while doing the course? I was thinking of doing an administrator job because it might help with the course and would make it easier for when I start a job in HR.