Your help please - Research study - The use of objective Talent Identification Tools in the Public Sector

Hello,

My name is Anna Foster-Ressel, I work for Greater Manchester Combined Authority (which includes GM Fire & Rescue Service) in the People Services team. I am currently studying my level 7 CIPD - and as part of my course I am completing a business research project on Talent Identification tools.

To help this research, I am hoping that you may be able to spare 10-15mins of your time to complete a short survey on Talent Identification methods used by your organisation?

You can complete the Microsoft forms survey here:

https://forms.microsoft.com/e/w4jyBBnq7Z

(The survey closes on the 4th April 2023)

This survey is designed to be answered by a member of People Services / HR who has responsibility for Talent Management. If this is not you, then please forward to the person that this is most relevant to. 

Also, if you have further contacts in the Public Sector, please feel free to forward this on, the higher the response rate the better-quality analysis I can do.

HIGH LEVEL OVERVIEW:

Purpose of the research
This research is being carried out as part of my CIPD Level 7 Advanced Diploma in Strategic People Management course.

As part of feedback from independent audits, and from an internal review of promotion pathways for GMFRS it was identified that there was a need for an objective way for managers to initially identify potential talent for succession planning & promotion purposes. In addition, there is also a gap in research & literature surrounding objective methods and tools to do this, and the gap widens for public services, and even further for emergency services. This project intends to address these gaps.