Holiday pay!

Hello all

I am an HR consultant for a large independent school, as well as a Governor for my local (state) primary school and chair of the Personnel and Communications Committee.

The independent school I work with employs term time only support staff, full time support staff, support staff who work in holidays - or both as well as teaching staff! So, it can get a little confusing.

For all those working in education, how do you work holiday for support staff? Some schools will add on 10.77pc to the basic rate/salary to cover holidays for TTO staff, and pay the salary (based on 35 weeks) equally over 12 months. But I'm not entirely comfortable with this given that it is, in effect, rolled up holiday pay!

How do you calculate how many weeks a year a term term worker works (support staff) - 35 weeks a year or 35 weeks a year plus holiday weeks - and do you calculate holiday on the 35 weeks OR 52 weeks?! 

There's one specific query - a support member of staff who works TTO X hours and also holiday periods for X hours. They currently 'roll up' her holiday (*frown*). Now, she's been working some regular overtime, so actually they should be paying the overtime at an average rate... you can see where I'm going here.

I'd love to know how you all manage holiday payments for support staff!

Many thanks

Joanne Moss MCIPD

• For our term time only staff we assign holidays during the holiday period. So their contract consists of, say, 38 weeks of which 32 are working weeks, 6 are holiday weeks. They also have 14 non paid weeks. Their calendar shows the 32 working weeks, the 6 holiday weeks which fall into non-term time and the remainder of the non-term time is unpaid leave. Their annual salary is paid over 12 months.

As they have a clear holiday period, I don't believe it counts as rolled up holiday, but I may be mistaken. Our holiday year runs Sept - August in line with the academic year, so all holidays are taken within that holiday year as well.