SCR and further checks on those previously living/working outside UK

Good afternoon,

I'm new to working in education and have been given the task of maintaining the SCR for the MAT I work in.

We are now using the template from The Key and I am wondering if anyone has any advice or guidelines they follow for noting further checks on those previously living/working outside UK?

Advice from The Key refers to Keeping Children Safe in Education (KCSIE 2019) section 156: [...] schools and colleges must make any further checks they think appropriate so that any relevant events that occurred outside the UK can be considered.

I have a few questions and any guidance would be greatly appreciated:

1. Is anyone able to give some example of what their school, academy or MAT believes to be 'appropriate'? 
  2. Do you have a policy to guide HR as to when a check should or shouldn't be carried out?
  3. Does anyone not include this data in their SCR?

Thank you

Amy

• Hi Amy

We take the approach that the equivalent of the DBS check should be sought from any country the candidate/employee has lived or worked as an adult.

We have successful candidates complete a declaration form as to whether they have lived/worked abroad with dates. From this we then advise if overseas checks are needed. www.gov.uk has details for each country that provides criminal checks and how to go about it. For those countries that do not provide checks, we have risk assessments in place.

This is all then recorded on the SCR like the DBS check.

Hope that helps.
  • Hello Amy
    On our SCR template we include the column headings below
    Has individual lived or worked outside of the UK? Yes/NO
    EEA sanctions and restrictions check complete? Yes/No
    Date checked
    Checked by