Teacher Holiday Entitlement for Fixed Term Employee

Hello, I hope you can help me - I'm relatively new to schools and teachers terms and conditions and have a question.

If a teacher works just shy of a term on a fixed term contract, does anyone know if they are entitled to extra holiday pay other than the usual salary, or the fact they have left before the end of term mean that they just get paid to the day they left?

For instance; working the Summer term (20th April) until  two weeks before breaking up for the Summer holidays - does their pay finish on the date they leave (3rd July -we actually break up on the 17th) or do they accrue holiday pay and we then have to pay a proportion/ or all of the summer holidays on top of this?

I can't seem to see anything in the Burgundy book or anywhere else explaining it so hoping someone here knows.

Thanks in advance

• Is there a reason the contract finishes early? In line with STPCD notice periods, the teacher would be employed until 31 August. Only exception would be for example, if the contract was temporary to cover sickness absence and the substantive post holder returned to work. Teachers work on directed time and annual leave is included in their monthly pay.

• In reply to Louise Highmore:

Thanks Louise, the teacher is filling in for a term as we are short staffed, but requested to finish earlier than the end of term as had a holiday booked. Does that make a difference?
  • In reply to Ali: