Headteacher recruitment (primary)

Hello all. I work in HR but I am also a parent governor in a small maintained primary school. The headteacher is retiring after 25 years and the governors need to recruit a new head. Does anyone have any advice regarding recruitment please? The plan is to advertise in TES and social media, possibly using a paid for Facebook advert. I don't have any experience of recruiting in education (I work in the environmental sector and previously housing) so any help would be much appreciated.

• I would use TES rather than Facebook. I would also look to see if the local authority has a jobs board or service. if it’s a small school it’s probable that someone reasonably locally will get the role / apply
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

20 Oct, 2019 09:26

Hi Elizabeth... what does the school usually do to recruit teachers. Not a lot different.
  • In reply to Steve Bridger:

Most of the teachers have been there for donkeys year so I don't know.
  • Hi Elizabeth, following on from your post on the CIPD member group, I had a peek at the Worcestershire County Council website and most schools in the area advertise on the eteach website (the LEA actually link to it) www.eteach.com/teaching-jobs-worcestershire I'm not whether you will need to open an account or the whether LEA's schools HR service can do it for you? Normally. only the current Head Teacher and Chair of Governors are involved in the recruitment (at least that is what happens at my school), asides from the interview, any prospective candidate will need to give a presentation on how to improve the schools Ofsted rating with a view to tackling areas where the school is weak, what you would be looking for could be something simple as like as an example, changing the layout of the EYFS classroom so the children are more focussed in their development activities.
  • In reply to Paul: