Exit Interviews for Teachers

Hello all,

I have recently become a parent governor for my local Primary School and as I have some HR experience, everything HR is coming my way . My first job is to hold Exit Interviews with three teachers who are all leaving at the end of term in July. I have done lots of exit interviews over the years but never in an Educational setting before and I was hoping I could get some advice before holding these meetings. I've drafted up a form with the usual questions around why they enjoyed working there, what they found challenging, why they are leaving etc but I was wondering if there was anything else I should include that is more specific to the education sector, for example should I ask anything around safeguarding?

It is a very small school which has been going through a lot of change over the last couple of years and more recently received a disappointing OfSted report so I would like to try and make sure we get constructive insights from the interviews.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance 

• The first thing i would say is that operational management, such as carrying out exit interviews, is absolutely not the role of Governors. The Governing body is there to set the strategic direction of the school and hold the Headteacher to account for managing the school on a day to day basis effectively. If the Headteacher hasn't put effective people management processes in such as finding out why people leave and/or doesn't see that it is their role to do that,. you may have already identified one of the reasons for the poor Ofsted report.

Having said that. I think including Safeguarding and how well they feel that good safeguarding practices are followed in the school would be a good idea. Including something about their views on leadership and management of the school would also be useful.