Investigation meeting and Union attendance

I am part of a growing MAT with little HR support internally but we do have an external HR Provider who is unable to attend an investigation meeting (not sure why at this point).  One of our schools has (at the last minute) asked me to attend an investigation meeting with one of their employees who has had an allegation made against them by a child.  They are to attend an investigation meeting on Monday and their Union rep will also be in attendance.

I have little experience of investigations thus far, although keen to learn more and I guess this is the only way to learn. 

Can I please ask for advice on my role as HR within the meeting as I assume to take notes.  Am I to ask any questions if I feel relevant to the investigation?  Is the Union Rep able to ask questions as I thought the companion was not able to ask questions at the meeting?    All advice would be appreciated as to how I should approach this.

Many thanks

• Its normally only the person whose doing the investigation, which may be anything from their line-manager to HR if appropriate. After all how many people does it take to ask someone a few questions?

No doubt at a government funded School or public authority have their own set of rules covering such matters. I have absolutely no experience of this except it appears rather over the the top.
  • In reply to David Perry:

Thanks David, do you think it's over the top because a union rep is attending or HR? Sorry didn't understand what you meant by that. I always thought in investigation meetings there should be an investigator (who has had no prior involvement in the case) a note taker (in this case HR), the person who the allegation has been made against and if relevant their companion/union representative.
  • In reply to David Perry:

Agree with the other David: there is no *statutory* right at all to having any companion at investigation meetings