Teachers Paternity Leave

Can anyone clarify something for me.  I have always been under the impression that if a member of staff starts paternity leave just before a school holiday then the holiday is counted as part of the paternity leave.  So, for example, we have a member of staff whose wife had her baby yesterday and who wants to start his paternity leave today.  I thought that the half term holiday would form part of the two weeks of leave but our local authority HR advisor is telling me that isn't correct.  Unfortunately the paternity leave policy for our local authority doesn't mention how holidays affect paternity leave and I have only recently joined the school so this is the first time it has come up here.

• I have no knowledge of local government or schools but as no one has responded so far I thought I'd give you my opinion.

My understanding of STATUTORY paternity leave is the the person must take either one or two weeks and if they choose to take two weeks then it must be two consecutive weeks. I would say that if the parent decides to take 2 weeks paternity leave then he is on paternity leave for those two weeks and he would then be entitled to take the holidays at a later date.
  • In reply to Fiona:

They can't take holidays at a later date as they're fixed date holidays due to being school staff.

I can't answer the question I'm afraid as I'm not experienced within schools and I know that maternity arrangements can often be different to the 'norm', but presumably the taking of paternity leave within 8 weeks of the birth of the baby still stands so in theory they could take the holiday and then take paternity leave?
  • Hi Andrea,

As you know, term time employes are different to whole time employee's who have 'holiday entitlements'. You can't swap and change school holidays and we wouldn't generally give back in lieu however, this is ultimatley your decision.