HR in the educational sector

Hi, I am looking for some guidance or literature to read in relation to HR in a school environment. I have worked in the corporate world of HR for many years,  but after a career break retrained to work in careers. I have been asked if I could support the Head in relation to HR matters. I am aware that schools are quite different to the previous environments I have worked in. If anyone has tips, literature or resources they would be able to suggest, they would be gratefully received. Many thanks.

• Happy to meet and chat if you're anywhere near London? I've been in a school environment for the last year, and it's certainly different - even though I was in higher education before that so you wouldn't have thought it would be that much of a change. Otherwise this forum board (and the whole community) is very useful, and I also use ISBA.
  • I worked in education for a few years having come from a manufacturing environment. I suggest that you read and inwardly digest the Teachers Pay and Conditions 'book' - I soon found out that the Teachers and their union reps know every word!! Warning - it's 83 pages long. Link here : assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/.../School_teachers__pay_and_conditions_document_2018.pdf
  • Hi Catherine

In addition to the "normal" HR practices, I would start reading guidance around safeguarding e.g. regulated activity, keeping children safe in education, as this states how we need to recruit, what documents we need to hold and maintain, as well as giving you a good understanding of school level policies.

As Judy has said, the Burgundy Book is one to really get your head around as Teachers have some pretty unique terms. The Green Book too if your support staff are under these T&Cs.

The forum has been fantastic as a sense check for me and finding out what others are doing in a similar position.
  • In reply to Nina Waters:

Thank you so much for the offer - I am in South West London.
  • In reply to Kimberly: