Love the new group - holiday pay in education

Thanks for creating this new group!  I am an HR consultant for a large independent school, as well as a Governor for my local (state) primary school and chair of the Personnel and Communications Committee. 

The independent school I work with employs term time only support staff, full time support staff, support staff who work in holidays - or both as well as teaching staff!  So, it can get a little confusing.  

For all those working in education, how do you work holiday for support staff?  Some schools will add on 10.77pc to the basic rate/salary to cover holidays for TTO staff, and pay the salary (based on 35 weeks) equally over 12 months.  But I'm not entirely comfortable with this given that it is, in effect, rolled up holiday pay!

There's one specific query - a support member of staff who works TTO X hours and also holiday periods for X hours.  They currently 'roll up' her holiday (*frown*).  Now, she's been working some regular overtime, so actually they should be paying the overtime at an average rate... you can see where I'm going here.  

I'd love to know how you all manage holiday payments for support staff!  

Many thanks 

Joanne Moss MCIPD

• Hi, for most areas there are formulae to apply, generally created by the LA, which means that support staff are effectively paid rolled up holiday pay. The formulae are based on hours worked and weeks worked in a year and means the support staff get paid holidays added to their pay every month. It is then monthly pay which is worked into a daily rate and used for OT payments.
    It's hugely complex - I am new to education and still getting my head around it, showing calculations in contracts! HT also are confused!
    But as long as you expect TTO staff to be present every day of term and only be off during school holidays, this is the way it will be!