Long service award in education

Good afternoon,

I work as a HR Manager for a MAT and a proposal has been submitted to have a long service award and I wanted to understand if there are any schools out there that offer such an award, when and what they offer.

If this was introduced we would need clearly defined goals and objectives. The awards need to be carefully defined and measured from the start. They need to address questions such as if someone leaves and comes back to a school, is their service added up or does it start again.

I would love to hear from anyone that has a long service award in place.

Jodie

• Isn't there a risk you are over complicating what is in essence a "nice" thing to do. Objectives - recognise long service and thank people :-)
    Measurement - long serving people feel happier and thanked :-)

Generally in these things service has to be continuous
  • Dear Jodie
    I work in an International School in New Delhi and we have long service awards as part of our rewards and recognition policy. These awards are based on tenure and given to employees who complete continuous employment with us. For eg we have an award for 10 years, 20 years and 25 years.
    Hope this helps.

Thanks
    Jayati
  • We have one. Celebrate 10, 20 and 30 years with flowers plus 10 get birthday off or agreed day if it falls outside TT. 20 is birthday off and £200, 30 is birthday off and £400 in a nutshell. Only continuous service to our school not the LA or other schools. The point is to earn the reward over a long period of time. Beware, we have a problem in that our LA data is not always accurate in the recording of start dates and continuous service.
  • In reply to Keith: