Removal of hybrid working for return to the office for 5 days...

Hi 

I was wondering if anyone in an owner/managed business has removed hybrid working and brought everyone back into the office 5 days week? Where there any specific considerations, process or timeframes?

• Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

14 Mar, 2023 15:34

Hi Claire... welcome... what business / sector are you working in?
  • I am more interested in why you would want to do so, bearing in mind that people can always make a FWR.

Welcome to the Community.
  • In reply to Steve Bridger:

Small recruitment business
  • In reply to Peter Stanway:

Believe me not my choice.......
  • Johanna

| 0 Posts

CIPD Staff

16 Mar, 2023 09:47

Hi Claire

Have you employed anyone who was recruited on the basis that their role would be hybrid? For everyone, there may be financial, wellbeing/cost of living concerns, caring responsibilities, practical commuting issues etc. Ultimately, although I'm not an expert, suspect it comes down to contractual terms. The changes without engagement and collaboration and buy-in could result in many unhappy workers (*and some happy ones, remembering some people thrive on being with others or don't get on with home working.)

CIPD guidance on Hybrid and flexible working looks at several areas where there are positives:

job satisfaction
    productivity
    work-life balance
    health and wellbeing
    staff retention and recruitment
    inclusion and diversity.

If you wanted to chat to an expert re the details of your org's particular situation, as a CIPD member you have 24/7 access to the employment law helpline https://www.cipd.co.uk/membership/benefits/advice-support so that's worth considering in addition to the support you're getting here from Community members :)

• Step One: The owner/manager will need to clearly articulate why an end to hybrid working is an operational requirement.