Can promotion be considered part of Reward Management?

I'm currently studying the Reward Management Course, and i was wondering, does promotion count as a type of reward when it comes to the employees?

Share your thoughts :)

• Hi Meryam
    The most common use of the word "reward" in HR circles tends to limit its meaning to cash and or benefits. A Total Reward Management approach will include pay, benefits, working environment, career progression, development opportunitues, recognition processes (including saying "thank you"!) and a wealth of other factors that make up the employee value proposition - pulling them all together in a much broader notion of "reward". This is the core of my full day's teaching on Total Reward Management for students on a one-year MBA in international hr with comp & ben speciality.
  • In reply to Ray:

Thanks ray, i agree with you. Reward is a broad term. Promotion is more linked with Performance Management rather than Rewards, since it's part of motivation to perform better in order to get promoted.

But my point is, some organisations have different levels of rewards when you go up the scale, so I believe an employee may want to get promoted in order to get more rewards.. Am i right?
  • Hi, Context is everything ....in some organisations "promotion" may be embedded in the culture and dna as part of the reward mechanism. In others it may be seen as counter productive. By way of example of the latter, I worked in one company where use of the word "promotion" in organisation announcements was dropped in favour of using the term " appointment or appointed to the position of xxx" as it was felt that this was less divisive. I am sure that you will find many different perspectives on this subject so hopefully adding context to the input you receive will be helpful as you reflect on this part of your Reward Management course.
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

6 Nov, 2018 09:53

In reply to Meryem: