Career Path Transition into HR

Greeting to all the HR professionals in this forum.

I wish to get your expert opinion on a question that I have, which is related to career path transition from Administration into HR, please. 

I am a professional with 15+ years of experience in diverse areas within business administration, working for diplomatic missions in risk assessment area, visa decision making. I posses transferable skills such as public speaking, presentation skills, employee relations, ensuring my team's performance appraisal cycle and leave management are in compliant inline with the company's HR guidelines, induction of new employees, raising requisitions on Taleo for recruitment, focal point between management and team for various issues and so on. 

I have attained a British MBA and recently completed CIPD's Diploma in HRM. I wanted to change my career path into HR as I am confident that I can put my transferable skills and knowledge to good use and also because I would have a clear career path as I can focus on one area. Moreover, I had volunteered and was accepted by CIPD as an investigation panel member recently. 

Unfortunately, I have been unsuccessful in securing an HR position within my organization (Internal transfer) and upon speaking to the HR, I was told "HR does not think that you are competent enough to handle HR work, as you do not have HR experience". These were the exact feedback I got from HR. So, although this was not the response I expected, I am not giving up on my career aspiration and I wish to get clarity from the HR experts in this forum on what you would do if you were in my shoes and how you would handle this and what I should do next.

Appreciate your reply please.  

• HR does not think that you are competent enough to handle HR work, as you do not have HR experience

That's some clumsily worded feedback.