HR problems in Manufacturing Sector Organisations

Hi everyone I am currently studying Level 5 CIPD and doing some research into the HR problems that manufacturing organisations are currently facing. If you work in the manufacturing sector, what are the 3 biggest problems you are currently facing?
  • Hi Megan
    I am factory manager in the textile industry. I think one of the biggest problems we face is recruiting and retaining staff in the factory at the moment it seems that no one wants to work anymore. I am also studying for my level 5 as well.
  • Hi Gary

Thanks for your reply that’s really helpful. I am definitely finding the same problem! Do you have any other problems facing your organisation with regards HR practice?
  • My experience of HR is mainly within the retail sector, but earlier this year I worked for a manufacturing company. Trade unions seemed to be involved a lot more. I don’t know whether it was the culture of that particular organisation, but everyone just seemed so unhappy and the most minor incidents that could have been easily resolved seemed to have unions involved because the staff did not trust management or HR. I remember the Director of Ops telling me “this isn’t retail, if someone threatens you with a union, they will do it.”

Also recruitment. The type of work was ‘undesirable’ and obviously factory floor based. No one seemed to want to do it for long and turnover and productivity rates were horrendous. Again, this may have been that particular organisation.
  • Hi Megan,

I work in manufacturing and sickness and absence is also an issue.

• Thanks Amo, that’s really helpful feedback!
  • Hi Megan
    I agree with Lisa sickness and absence is also an issue seems people don’t like working on a Monday.
  • An ageing workforce !
  • Hi Megan

If you haven’t sought them out already, may I suggest that https://www.makeuk.org/ may be willing and able to help you.
  • Hi Anel