Onboarding Plans - HR Team

Hi

I am a newly promoted HR Manager, and I am having a new HR Assistant join in January to support me in HR. I want to create a really good onboarding plan knowing that this is going to be completely virtual. My start to the business was to read everything and just figure it out for myself, which I don't want to do here.

We have a fairly robust onboarding plan for the rest of the business, set stakeholder meetings, trainings etc that most would not be applicable to someone in HR (some will)

I am struggling with even where to start with integrating into HR, at this stage I feel that I need to spend all of my time going through each system and policy we have (no idea how I will have the time for this). This would be so much easier in the office as I can do things between, set a task and then check-in. I feel will have to be really structured remotely 

Does anyone have an onboarding plan they use within your HR team that you would be happy to share? How you get a new person up to speed, and the order of which you do that.

I completely appreciate each business is different and will have a different way of doing it, I think I just need a starting point to give me an idea and then I can tweak it to fit with my business.

Thanks in advance 

• Hi Laura,

Congratulations on your new assignment and good luck going forward!

When a new hire joins your company, the first few months set the tone. If things go smoothly, the process can improve their long-term satisfaction, job performance, and retention.

As a manager, you play a critical role in the success of every new hire.

One of the key elements to a successful WFH working environment is being extremely structured and constantly delegating tasks.

The purpose here is achieving results through others “direct reports” by effectively communicating expectations and offering continuous support. Making sure all the required resources for someone to succeed are available.