HR Managers to manage all conduct and capability

I’ve been an HR manager for over 10 years so I have a good idea of our role as HR managers. I’ve recently started with a new company an SME with 200 employees nationwide, my Director and the Managers believe all investigations and Disciplinarys should be carried out by me the HR manager they raise the issue sbout the member of staff then HR deal with it. Now I’ve always managed the process and supported managers in investigations and Disciplinarys I.e note taking or Advice. My Director said as a HR manager it’s my job to conduct the whole process and he does not want an HR advisor as he believes that’s the role I’m describing. It doesn’t seem right to me as the line manager is not dealing with their member of staff it will be down to HR to manage.

Is this how some companies operate? Not sure if it’s something I should try and challenge or try and adapt to

Your thoughts would be appreciated

Thanks

• I agree - but I'm not the director. And of course this is likely to end up with you being piggy in the middle when those managers and the director don't agree with the outcomes.
  • Hi Julie

I am with you: managers do the managing, HR supports them. We are not the organisation's police, CPS or judiciary, or industrial social workers, counselors or nannies. I don't think you will find any respondents on here who think that we should be. There have been many other threads on here where the issue of line managers trying to palm off any difficult conversations to HR has come up, but I can't think of any unifying search term that would find them all for you.

None of that helps you very much in your new role. There is no point in us setting you up for a conversation that goes "Oh no I don't" "Oh yes you do"and repeat and repeat and repeat.