Where would you look for jobs?

I'd appreciate any thoughts from people starting out in an HR/people career about where they would look for jobs? I work in a school, and am looking for someone for a job that could be really good for someone in their first or second role -  but sector-focused sources aren't very relevant for the role. I don't have a large recruitment advertising budget, so would value any suggestions about the best places to advertise. 

Thanks!

Nina

• It sounds like you want a generalist search/attraction method to identify your next team member? Have you tried Indeed and LinkedIn?
  • Indeed is the default starting place. The signal-to-noise ratio is quite unfavourable, but a carefully worded advert and job title, with the right key words, can achieve a great deal without needing to splurge. You will, however, have to fend off endless sales calls from Indeed wanting to persuade you that with an investment of just a few hundred pounds you could reach thousands more candidates.

Do not.

(N.B. A paid account on Indeed is a great investment for some businesses and sectors and worth the money, but for a one-off role in a small public sector operation like a school... definitely not!)
  • In reply to Robey:

Thanks both. I've promoted on Linked In, but I've been burned with Indeed in the past - with little quality and a lot of 'noise' as mentioned. If that's where people will be looking though, it's worth dealing with! Thanks all.
  • Hi Nina

Will be interesting to see where those starting out their HR careers are looking, but the Apprenticeship service could be an option (a few HR apprentice roles are live on the portal)

It can be a bit admin heavy (particularly if you've not registered as an employer yet), but it's free to advertise roles as I understand it, and some of CIPD courses should covered under the levy.

Your situation may be more complicated depending on your school status (type of school and who the employer is, ie local authority)