Management Research Report - Pay grade structures and motivation

Hi All,

I am currently studying for my MA in HRM and am currently doing my Management Research Report. I have changed my title numerous times as i was worried it was too broad/not detailed enough/would i have enough to speak about... and for the moment, I have settled on: 

What benefit could the use of a pay grade structure bring to the level of motivation (or engagement if this better suits?) for employees at ...?

First of all, does the way this title is phrased make sense? Or do you think it can be worded slightly differently?

Secondly, has anyone had any experience of this?

Any finally, if this is something you have looked into or previously researched for your organisations/studies, would you recommend any books/research that has already been done around this topic?

Thank you so much for reading this far, and any help/guidance is much appreciated!

Kindest regards

• Hello!

I think this is a great question!

I've recently finished by MSc in HRM too and I struggled to set out my question. My research aim was to "Critically explore the narrative of Performance Management at a UK Uni: Is it fit for purpose for Professional Services." Which is different, however Universities operate on a grading structure which 'set's the scene'.

The grading structures were implemented in Universities to show work of equal value was being paid to staff who completed work of equal value. The 50 point 'pay scale' was introduced and many uni's decided to apply it (this happened about 20/15 years ago). And that's one of the most positively used argument for having a grading structure that I could come across, but this was in online articles not many written journals. This was part of the National Framework Agreement, and some sources can be found by looking at National Committee inquiry into Higher Education (1995).