Should I study level5 without HR experience?

Hello

I have worked in Recruitment for over 10 years and I am thinking about trying to transition into HR.

I have quite broad recruitment experience that has touched upon; full-cycle, benefits, rewards, performance, management etc - but I have never worked in a specific HR role. 

I studied for a degree in an unrelated field (although feels like many moons ago now).

I've looked into the distance learning providers and I feel like level 3 might not be enough of a stretch and quite honestly, I don't want to pay for level 3,5 and 7.

Does anyone have any advice here, am I being totally ridiculous signing up to level 5 when I don't work directly in HR?

Thanks so much for any help/advice.

• Hi Hollie. I've got my level 2 and 3 and currently doing level 5 and also already paid for level 7. I tried jumping from 3 to 7 and had to go back to 5 and I've got a first class bachelors degree in Law and still struggled a bit. My advice start at the bottom especially as it's a new field for you. Happy to help if you need any drop me an email. lee.mcnae@sky.com
  • Hi Holly

You're not ridiculous to skip to Level 5 - this isn't a clear cut decision.

A couple of things I would recommend considering are -

1. The level you've been working at and what you think your entry point into HR will be. If you have some managerial experience and think you will be qualified (when you have the CIPD) to skip a more junior role in HR - then you might also skip level 3 and go straight into level 5. If however you're looking at HR Assistant role then level 3 will give you the practical skills you need succeed.