Reconsidering if I can complete a CIPD Qualification

Hi All,

I hope you and your loved ones are safe and well. I am currently on furlough and had started an online Level 5 Diploma. I moved to London in 2017 and have 3 years of HR Assistant and Coordinator work experience (I have a bachelors, masters and prior work experience from back home). I initially chose to the Level 5 as I believed it was what is needed to attain good career prospects. But after some reflection, I know that I like HR Operations & Service Delivery and work well in a shared services model. My aspirations are to grow in the above filed perhaps becoming a Team Lead. So I know a Level 3 is better suited for me. But, I am struggling with getting down to writing the assessment . The academic level required overwhelms me and I feel that that it is beyond my capability. I tried to go back to why I want to do a CIPD - so that I can have opportunities to get selected for jobs. My question is - Do I need to do a CIPD for entry level HR Operational roles?

• Hi

I am surprised that with both a first degree and a Masters that the academic requirements of level 5 are overwhelming you. Level 5 is of course a qualification lower than you have already. So I wonder if it’s really the course that is the problem or if it’s more motivation and engagement with it given your current furloughed status? It is probably worth discussing both things with your tutor and exploring both the academic challenges but Also your engagement and motivation at the moment.

To your question. You have achieved three years experience without the CIPD qualification so yes it is possible to get into HR and process without it. But it’s almost certainly easier to progress with both experience AND qualifications. Longer term if you are ambitious you may need them ( and it might depend on what your masters is in). So i woukdnt walk away just yet but see if you can over come the current challenges.

Good luck.
  • In reply to Keith: