Unit 1 - Developing Professional Practice Help

Hi all,

I'm currently studying with ICS Learn and I am stuck on Task 3 - Project Management and Task 4 - Self Assessment. 

What projects are good to write about? I can't really think of many that I have been involved in/managed

• Hi Rasa,

A project is defined as being a series of tasks that need to be completed in order to reach a specific, defined outcome. So, think of a project as stepping stones from A to B - where B is the completed project.

A project doesn't have to be a big thing, like moving offices or introducing a new HRIS. It could be something smaller like redesigning the way something's done, or introducing a new method of working.

Unfortunately, without knowing more about your situation this is an almost impossible question to answer further. I hope this helps a little.
  • In reply to Teresa:

Hi Teresa,

Thank you for the support. I am currently a HR Admin and was thinking about using Absence Management as a project to write about, however can't really think of issues that would have come up during a project like this.
  • Hi I have done this unit recently and I used recruitment for a role at work as the example. I created a GANTT chart plotting out the timeframe for the different tasks.
    Sarah
  • Hi Rasa, in my DVP assignment I wrote about stakeholder analysis and gant chart in relation to absence management policy and relevant procedures for project management but you can use a fictitious example like improving new starter notification procedures, return to work interview process etc. For the self assessment part I used a template my course provided.
  • In reply to Rasa:

Hi Rasa,

OK, so the project could go something like this - obviously this is all hypothetical, you'll need to think how it's real for you.

1/ Do you have an AM problem: how do you know this, where's the data coming from, how valuable/reliable is that data.