Transitioning from Military HR to Civilian - which course should I complete??

Good Morning,

I am close to the end of my military career and I have been an administrator for the duration of my 22 year career, although for a spell we were know as HR Administrators my understanding is that HR in the real world is very different.  I am looking at completing the CIPD Level 5 HR Management qualification but am unsure of what the best course for me will be.  I have looked at a number of options and I think my preffered option is a part time taught course which conisists of 8 x 2 day workshops over a 14 month period (with Chysos). However, my dilema is that I will have left the army (only by a month or so) before I qualify using this option (I can't start the course until Jan as I am currently overseas).  How difficult (clearly this is dependent on how quickly I absorb the information) would it be for me to complete the qualification through ICS and doing it online? 

All advice would be greatly appreciated as this is a huge step for the next chapter of my life.

Thanks

Steve  

• Hi Steve, you may find some volunteering in addition to the L5 may be useful, especially if you want to have something strategic experience oversight on your CV. I found this on people management jobs online in the volunteering section, Obviously, you not leaving the mob till the new year but I'm sure this wouldn't necessarily be a problem. pmjobs.cipd.co.uk/.../
  • In reply to Steven: