Question regarding interview selection

Dear all,

I am really new to HR and I have just a question regarding interview process/Decision and hoping you all can help me :)

I’ve had a interview last week, at the end of the interview my interviewee said that I was 30/600 so far, there are few steps of the interview, not all the candidates had started at the same time, some of them are actually almost finished. I feel a bit reluctant to ask the manager but how do they ensure the candidates have fair decisions? As far as I know I won’t be the latest either as they are looking for more too, so if two people succeed already, do the rest of the candidates just give up?  

Sorry it’s a stupid question maybe but I really do not know. I would love to hear the experienced professionals For your opinions,  greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance

Paula

• Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

6 Jun, 2018 15:07

Hi Paula... for clarification... you are a candidate?

30/600?

How many posts are there to fill?
  • In reply to Steve Bridger:

Hi Steve. Thanks for the post. One position. If I haven’t heard it wrong there were 600 applications and 30 so far to be selected for the interview.
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

6 Jun, 2018 15:27

In reply to Paula:

They're short-listing (long-listing?) 30 people for one role?

Re-reading the second paragraph of your opening post... I'm still a bit confused. At any rate, they sound like long odds, I'm afraid.
  • In reply to Steve Bridger:

Yes long listing. They selected so many people for interviews and there are I think at least three stages of the interview it’s very competitive. But I just hope that they do conduct it in a fair way.
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

6 Jun, 2018 15:58

In reply to Paula:

Not sure there's anything you can do, Paula. But good luck!

• In reply to Paula: